Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Publisher:  Harper Collins

Genre:  Dsytopian

Available in ebook, audiobook, or paperback format from Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  More reviews available on Goodreads.  

Overall:  My initial reactions to opening this book:  WTF?  Who scribbled all over the book?  My second reaction:  Boy, I pity who ever had to edit this book.  The author’s narration is unique.  There’s a lot of rambling and words crossed out.  And the numbers.  1345232 numbers in this book.  I didn’t think it was possible to have that many numbers.  The unique writing style is annoying for the first chapter but then it becomes easier and easier to fall into the crazy world of Juliette’s.

Characters:  I liked Juliette initially, but her doom and gloom and weak nature irritated me.  I loved the villain, Warner.  I was actually hoping that Juliette would become his evil co-partner.  I think I would of liked the book more.  I didn’t like Adam.  He felt one dimensional to me.  All eye candy.  I like my leading men to be more than a pretty face and a hot body.  And of course I didn’t like the instant love between Juliette and Adam and the explanation of their backstory together felt forced and sappy.  I hate sappiness.

Plot:  This is what kept me turning the pages.  I liked how Juliette began in a mental institution, unloved and demented.  Man, she could of made an awesome super-villian.  Why did she have to be all self-righteous?  She then falls in love with Adam, only she’s not sure that he loves her and she’s not allowed to reveal her feelings because Warner would shut ‘em down.  Of course, eventually the lovers unite, get in trouble, and that’s when the real story starts.

Ending:  The ending wasn’t an end, rather it was an eye-opener.  Without giving any spoilers, there is way more to this world then what the first 3/4th of the novel presents to the reader.  I kind of liked the ending but I’m not sure if it was enough to convince me to read the next book.  I’ll probably pick up a copy of the sequel from the library…eventually just to figure out what happens.

Summary:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Grade: C

This book is good for fans of dystopians.

I borrowed a copy of this book from my local library.

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in Default

3 comments on “Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I know that some hate the narration in this one with the crossed out words and all the numbers, but I LOVED it. I think it was the thing that really made me FEEL the book and what Juliet felt. I felt like I got into her head. I didn’t love the insta love, but I guess it was minor to me cause it didn’t stick with me. But I loved the story for the most part. It’s starting to fade in my memory. I have clear pictures in my head of her in her cell and her with Warner and her hiding with Adam, but the plot has faded a bit in my memory. Guess I’ll need a reread before the next one comes out.

    • The numbers annoyed me way more than the crossed out words. Now, I didn’t noticed the narrative the longer I read but every time I had to stop and restart, it took me a while again to get past it. I think number 3 is out or coming out soon in this series. I think the sequel is out already. Need to double check.

  2. Pingback: August in Review | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

Leave a Reply

