Book Blogger Hop: Blogging

Book Blogger Hop

What is your favorite thing about blogging?

There are way too many things.  Blogging is my way of keeping busy and being productive.  I might not be able to have a career until my baby is older, but I can still be involved in the field of my dreams.  I want to either get into publishing or be published.  At least in my “off years” I have something productive to show to people.  How many people can say that they’ve read and reviewed over 40 books in 2012?  That is something to be proud of.  And I’ve learned so much about the art of writing from reading other people’s work.  I think I learned more from reading that I ever did in my English college course.

Not to mention that nothing makes me happier than to find an absolute gem of a book written by a self-publisher or indie author and to help that author get sales.  Not every great book is published by the Big 6.  There are amazing books that have never seen The New York Times Bestseller List.

Blogging began as something to do in my downtime.  I never expected to get such joy from a hobby.  You can’t imagine how I felt when I received my first “free” book in the mail.  Every time I get a signed book, I feel more ecstatic than if I got a CD signed by Katy Perry or Nickleback.  I love books.  I’ve always loved reading.  I’m so happy to have found a way to get more connected with my favorite authors and to discover new ones.  Today, I actually got an email from Amazon saying that someone marked my review helpful before purchasing the book.  OMG!  Actual proof that I helped someone decide whether or not to purchase a book.  That’s crazy!

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in hop, meme

One comment on “Book Blogger Hop: Blogging

  1. Pingback: August in Review | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

Leave a Reply

