Short Story Saturday #4

Be Paranoid Be Prepared by Dina Rae

Genre:  Thriller/Suspense

A James Martin adventure and short story. While working in a strip club, James falls in love with a stripper. She is not what he expected.

At only 12 pages long this is more of an introduction to the series than a full-fledged short story, but worth your time if you plan on checking out the rest of the series.  I was surprised by how well-developed James is in such a short amount of words.  He’s not your average Joe Blow – well, he does blow…lots of it.  Currently only $.99 from Amazon on ebook.


Maelyn (The Nine Princesses Novellas) by Anita Valle

Genre:  YA fantasy (Although I’d say it fits more in MG)

Months later, the king returned home and presented his astonished queen with not one, but nine baby girls. “One from each kingdom I visited,” said the king. “They are orphans.” The queen wept joyously at the row of cradles, each bearing a sleeping infant. After bestowing a kiss on each child’s forehead she said, “Now they are princesses.”

Book 1: Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by the Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.

By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful of urchins raised into royalty. Even Uncle Jarrod, the High King of Grunwold, seems determined to prove that Maelyn no longer deserves to be a princess. With a family losing faith in her, and a kingdom growing dangerously hostile, even Maelyn begins to wonder if she is truly a real princess. And if her riches will turn to rags once again….

The Nine Princesses Novellas is a series that chronicles the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy this young-adult series.

At 78 pages this is technically a novella but still a very quick read.  I wasn’t sure what genre to stick it in, since it felt like a Disney princess story.  In other words, my child at heart absolutely adored this novella.  I honestly think that Maelyn will appeal more to pre-teens than teenage girls, as she’s very naive and loyal.  She cares more about the welfare of her sisters and kingdom than snagging a boy.  So this pick is for all the princesses at heart.  Loved it.  Currently only $.99 from Amazon.

3 comments on “Short Story Saturday #4

  1. Pingback: August in Review | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

  2. Pingback: Book Review/Giveaway: Halo of the Damned by Dina Rae | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

  3. Pingback: Tour Giveaway/Review: Bad Juju by Dina Rae | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s