Book Blogger Hop/FF

Book Blogger Hop

Highlight one of your favorite reviews from the past month!

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater was my absolute favorite read this month.  You can check out my review for it HERE.  I did make the mistake of waiting a week after reading to review it, so I forgot some of the finer parts of the novel.  Still, even now I remember the characters.  Gansey, Blue, Adam, and Noah are so far from the typical cast found in YA novels.  I loved the twist at the end and how the weirdness with Noah is finally explained.  If you haven’t checked it out, I do recommend it.  The only complaint that I’ve seen about this book is that the romance is pretty much non-existent.

What hyped up book do you think was not worth all the talk?

I’ve found myself let down by a lot of popular books – Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey.  The most recent one released (and I’ll probably get crucified for this answer) is Pushing the Limits.  It did NOT push any limits.  There wasn’t anything crazy or out of the ordinary about these two kids.  Noah and Echo are like hundreds of other real life kids I know that have screwed up families.  And it really bothered me that the huge secret took 300 pages to reveal.  Nothing happened in the present that was crazy and what happened in the past turned out to be as minimally messed up as possible.  It was an okay story at best but there’s so many people who are completely infatuated with Pushing the Limits and I don’t get it.

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in meme

9 comments on “Book Blogger Hop/FF

  1. Twilight and Fifty Shades seem to be at the top! I loved Twilight nd am planning on reading Fifty Shades soon.
    Oh, and great review! I am so looking forward to reading The Raven Boys!

    Here’s my F&FF post.

    New follower here!

    -Sarika.

  2. Pushing the Limit’s never even interested me – so I tend to think I’d be with you on this one (and I was let down by Twilight, etc.). I’m a new wordpress follower (facebook as well,) and am also a fan of the darker side of fiction :)

  3. new follower through word press email. Please visit/follow me at: bethartfromtheheart.blogspot.com…I prefer GFC, but whatever works for you is ok. I haven’t read any of the titles you mentioned, but my response was that I select books for their subject matter and if that captures me, I read it. Glad to meet you throught ff
    Beth

  4. I’m one of those oddball infatuoses! ;) I loved Pushing The Limits! I loved that there wasn’t anything particularly out of the ordinary about these kids, other than their messed up pasts, I think that was incredibly refreshing in a market swamped with extraordinary teens. But I love hearing differing opinions on books! How boring would it be if we all loved the same things?!!
    New follower here, hooray!
    Thanks for stopping by My FF!
    =D

Leave a Reply

