Book Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Publisher:  HarperCollins / Balzer + Bray

Genre: Paranormal Romance

You can buy it on ebook or paperback Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  More reviews available on Goodreads.

Review:

Overview:  I’m a huge junkie on anything dealing with mythology – both fiction and non-fiction, so I had high expectations when I picked up Everneath from my local library.  And then when I started reading Everneath, I almost put it down.  After reading others’ rave reviews about this title, I was disappointed by the slow slow pace of the first part of the book.  There were so many unanswered questions.  There was a significant lack of descriptions or anything besides Nikki’s constant whining.  The non-linear storyline got on my nerves, as I just wanted to know WTF was going on.  And then when things were explained and the time ran out, I finally fell in love with Nikki.

Characters:  The best scenes were those that involved either Cole or Jack.  The scenes between Nikki and her family or best friend, Jules, were awkward and I wish that she’d stop complaining so much in her narrative.  At least when one of the guys were involved, you could feel the emotion building inside of her towards one or the other and you could completely understand why she made the decisions she did.  I don’t know if I would consider Jack/Cole/Nikki a love triangle, since Nikki really doesn’t like Cole.  Although…she does spend half the novel trying to escape from Cole (and into Jack’s arms) and the other half of the novel trying to escape from Jack (and into Cole’s arms).  My favorite character has to be Cole.  I like how he felt so un-human.  He doesn’t have emotions of his own and is forced to “feed” on others to survive.  He’s a monster but surprisingly an easy character to empathise with.

Plot:   The story is told from two point of time in Nikki’s life.  The current time, which counts down six months until she has to return to the Tunnels and a year ago, which counts down until the first time she went to Everneath.  There’s quite a bit of information that is purposely left out until the end of the story and the unanswered questions built up my frustration for the first half of the novel.  When Nikki discovers that there might be a loophole and it might be worth fighting to remain, the story really picked up (and the answers to my questions finally showed up).

Ending:  Until the last part of the novel and the entire story clicked into place, I was totally planning on this being a 2 or 3 star book.  The ending completely consumed me and I was so locked into the story that I immediately added the rest of the series to my wishlist after finishing Everneath.  Although this is a paranormal romance, the ending is very bittersweet and dark.  The “dark” part of this story reminds me of A Need So Beautiful in that the protagonist is battling against destiny to stay with her love one, even when hope is futile.  Thank you so much to the author for the chosen ending.  It was perfect.

Book Description:

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned–to her old life, her family, her boyfriend–before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance–and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

“Everneath” is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.

Rating:  B

A very dark retelling of the Persephone/Hades Greek myth.

I received a copy of this book from my local public library.

Neverfall (#1.,5) is set to release December 2012 and Everbound (#2) is set to release January 2013.

About the Author


(Picture and image borrowed from author’s website.)

Because of two parents who were Greek myth geeks, I grew up thinking the latest fashion trends were inspired by Aphrodite, and a good conversational opener was, “So, which mythological character do you most resemble?” Despite these social shortcomings, I found a great husband who’s always my first reader. We live in Utah with our two young boys, who still have no idea why I’m at the computer all the time.

I received a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism from the University of Utah and a Master’s degree in International Relations from the London School of Economics.


By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in Default

Leave a Reply

