Book Review: The Soul’s Mark: Found by Ashley Stoyanoff

The Soul’s Mark: Found by Ashley Stoyanoff

Publisher: Self published

Available in ebook or paperback.

Although this book left me frustrated while reading, after I finished I thought how great of a story it was.  Not much happened in the first half of the book and it isn’t until the  halfway point that the book catches up with the blurb description.  And the other downfall was that despite having 19 and 20 year old characters, the book is written like a MG.  No sex scenes.  PG kissing and violence.  That said, if Amelia and her vampire soulmate were twelve or thirteen years old, I would rate this book a solid FIVE stars.  I love MG books like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.  But with older characters, most of the reading audience is late teens or adult.  It’s too sugarcoated to be a YA novel.  I would strongly suggest the author try a MG novel as her second, because that seems to be a better fit for her writing style.

The relationship between Amelia and her Vampire soulmate was a breath of fresh air.  They had a very dynamite love/hate relationship and as a reader I was constantly going back and forth on whether or not I wanted them together in the end.  Not until the last chapter did I know if they ended up together.

I loved the concept of the novel.  The fact that Amelia was tied to a vampire without any say or possibility of escape.  It was like an arranged marriage but with a paranormal twist.

I also thought that the minor characters were unique and well developed.  The only one that felt cliche was Fiona – the bad girl.  All the others kept surprising me with how they behaved towards the main couple and evolved with the main characters by the end.  Speaking of the end.  There was one part with Madam Crystal that I thought was completely out of the blue.  I wish there was some foreshadowing towards that twist in the plot.

Characters 5/5

Concept 5/5

Pacing 1/5

Grammar 4/5

Ending 4/5

Summary:

Anxious to leave her destructive past behind, Amelia Caldwell moves to Willowberg, excited for a fresh start. Once there, she discovers that her birthmark is more than it seems. She has been marked by a vampire’s soul. Not only does she hold his soul, but Amelia is also his soulmate.

After almost a century of searching for his soulmate, Mitchell Lang fears the worst—he is going to lose Amelia to another man. His heart takes over, and his impulsive decision to take away her free will and to intensify their bond quickly turns her growing love into hate.

When they become trapped in the emotional rollercoaster of their souls’ bond, open conflict erupts. Amelia has no intentions of belonging to anyone, not even her soulmate, and Mitchell refuses to let her go.

While she frantically searches for a way to escape his grasp, Amelia unlocks the painful memories of her past and uncovers a powerful secret. But before she has a chance to explore her newfound edge, she finds herself caught in the middle of a deadly game of revenge and is forced to realize that YOU CANNOT RUN FROM DESTINY.

Grade:  B

Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and the Paranormal genre will enjoy this book and its twist on vampires.

If you’re interested in buying this book, check it out at Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  More reviews and information available at Goodreads.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s