Book Review: Crux by Julie Reece

Crux by Julie Reece

Publisher:  J. Taylor Publishing

Available in ebook or paperback on July 9th, 2012.

I feel guilty for not falling in love with this book.  Perhaps it had something to do with the main character, Birdie.  God, I loved her.  She acted exactly how I would of acted if someone told me that I’d eventually save the souls of her ancestors locked in a curse.  Not just with disbelief, but with sarcasm.  Her narration is both touching and hilarious.  A personality like hers needs to be more prevalent in the YA genre.  Her love interest, Grey, actually acts like a person I could stand being with for more than five minutes.  He has a sincere personality, a troubled past of his own, and although he likes Birdie, he doesn’t follow her stupidly.  I love this dialogue from him to her:

“First of all, not everything’s about you, is it?  You don’t know me, and you sure as hell don’t know my family.  Got that?  You think because we have money, we don’t have problems, or that we don’t know what pain is?  You’ve got a lot to learn about people, Bird.  Your arrogance amazes me.”

His line hit me as a reader.  As much as I hate to admit, I apply stereotypes often to characters in books.  I’m so used to watching characters act the same way book after book when I should be viewing each book with an open mind.  Although the story felt predictable at times, Julie Reece succeeding in creating unique and enjoyable characters.  I can match up the events in this book to other books in its genre, but I can’t find another Birdie and Grey duo.

I liked the beginning of the book and how Birdie gets dragged into this whole mess.  She’s homeless and walking down a street when she thinks she sees her old high school teacher, Jeff.  He ends up making a scene in front of seven people, including Birdie and spills open a briefcase full of money.

Talk about a great opening.

Unfortunately, it felt like the closer I got to the end, the more predictable the plot.  I guessed most of the twists.  The sappy parts bored me.  I was hoping for something more bittersweet or unexpected.  Either.  Both, preferably.  It still was a great book with amazing characters.

Characters 5/5

Concept 4/5

Pacing 5/5

Grammar 5/5

Ending 3/5

Summary:

She should have run. Now, she’ll have to fight.

Eighteen year old Birdie may be homeless, but she’s surviving, that is until a mysterious guy throws money in the air like a crazy game show host, and she grabs some with the idea she’ll be able to buy dinner that night.

In that singular moment, unassuming Birdie becomes the girl in everyone’s viewfinder. Thugs want to kill her. Money-guy wants to recruit her. The very hot, very rich, and very out of her league Grey Mathews wants to save her.

Birdie, though, wants nothing to do with any of them, until she realizes fate didn’t bring them all together.

Her heritage did.

Now, with only twenty-one days left, she’s got to decide whether to follow in the footsteps of those before her or risk her life for people she’s only just met.

Grade: B+

Fans of Fantasy and Young Adult novels will enjoy this book.

If you’re interested in reading this book, check it out at Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  More reviews and information available at Goodreads.

I received a copy of this book for review from J. Taylor Publishing.

Leave a Reply

