Book Review: Seven-X by Mike Wech

Seven-X by Mike Wech

Publisher:  Self-published

Genre:  Horror

Available in ebook or paperback format from Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  More reviews available on Goodreads.  

Overall:  Despite my low rating, I don’t think that Seven-X was a bad book.  I just didn’t understand what was going on and I was irritated and confused for the majority of the book.  I felt like I was driving down a back road without GPS or a map or even headlights.  The individual scenes were written well, but I had a lot of trouble piecing everything together.  Although there is a direct reference in the book to Shutter Island, this book isn’t a copy-cat storyline but it does share the same “things are not what they seem” perspective.  I gave Seven-X two stars because I feel stupid when it comes to figuring out mysteries in books (hence why I don’t read mystery genre).  I prefer a more direct approach.  So, this is a hit or miss with horror fans.  If you like Shutter Island, you’ll probably love this book.  If not, then I recommend you skip.

Characters:  The main character is Eddie and boy does he have mental problems and when he’s narrating he goes completely off tangent constantly.  He’s reciting songs and thinking about his past relationships.  He felt genuine but I’m not sure how much I liked him as a character.  I felt bad for his wife Melody, who he was completely ignoring to pursue this journalism job.  The other major character was the religious fanatic Billings, who recited more from the bible than any character I’ve ever read about.  I really was hoping he’d get axed in the end – won’t say if he did.  Lots of other people did.  Annette is another interesting character who went from serial killer and transformed into Bible Betty.  Weird.  She was probably the only semi-scary part of the book for me.

Plot:  I didn’t understand the plot until about 70% into the book.  I have a bad habit of forgetting the book synopsis while reading.  Perhaps I should of plastered it to my Kindle cover so that I could of followed the storyline better.  The chapters switched between tape recordings, journal entries, and then the overall narrator.  The journal entries don’t make much sense – completely in character with the psychotic narrator.

Ending:  I kind of enjoyed the ending but some parts still confuse me.  It had a very open ending.  I don’t understand the whole demon possessed part – I think that it wasn’t explained well enough.

Summary:

SEVEN-X is a spine-tingling pendulum of extremes where the purest love and deepest evil journey deep into the heart of the human condition.

Los Angeles Times Investigative Reporter Eddie Hansen gets a tip on a missing death row prisoner being held at a Behavioral Health Center in a remote location outside the small town of Dell City, Texas. With an opportunity to break the story, he ventures into a world he was never prepared for. Eddie voluntarily commits himself into the asylum in hopes of finding Annette Dobson, “The SIDS Killer.” She is rumored to have had her execution faked so she could be shipped to the asylum, have an exorcism and give birth to the child the world thinks is dead.

Eddie’s journals, video diary and recordings leave a trail of breadcrumbs into experimental procedures conducted on patients without their consent. As he dives deeper into his investigation, Eddie is forced to confront his own demons, as an unwilling participant in the asylum’s rehabilitation procedures.

Grade: D

This book is good for fans who like their horror dipped in mystery.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in Default

One comment on “Book Review: Seven-X by Mike Wech

  1. Pingback: August in Review | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

Leave a Reply

