Booking Through Thursday: Conversions

And this week, I’m actually hitting this one on time.  Booking Through Thursday asks a random question to bloggers each week.  This week’s question:

Do you find yourself thinking that the books you read would be good on film? Do you wish the things you watched on TV or in the movies were available as book?

Some really can’t be converted, of course, but some definitely can (and it’s not always the ones you think will work). There’s something to be said for different forms of media, but a good story is universal … or is it??

I think that a good book is one I can picture as clearly as if I was watching a film.  I love watching books I adore come alive on film, provided the film follows the film exactly.  I thought the Harry Potter books and The Hunger Games were done fantastically.  The Game of Thrones HBO series is done well too.  I like how George R.R. Martin actually helps write the script.  The movie adaptions always seem to be better if the author has input.

As far as movies to book, I think that most movie genres can be converted to books without issue.  The two genres that would have problems converted are horror and humor.  Humor is so hard to get right in a book.  I think when I watch movies, it’s more of how a phrase is said that makes it funny than what is said.  Same with horror.  A lot of films rely on suspense and buildup.  These are hard to translate into a book because it’s difficult to maintain the creepy atmosphere for an entire novel.  I think this is why many horror writers stick to short stories.

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in Default

2 comments on “Booking Through Thursday: Conversions

  1. Pingback: August in Review | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

Leave a Reply

