Booking through Thursday: Quick

btt button

Booking Through Thursday asks a random question to bloggers each week.  This week’s question:

Quick–what are you reading right now?  Would you recommend it? What’s it about?


Well, I’m never reading just one book.  So let me go through the books I’ve read from within the last couple hours:

Illumine by Alivia Anders – I like the high school drama and the demons and such posing as students.  I’m currently halfway through the book and I’m thinking its a 3/4 rating.  I’m not quite sure if I’d recommend it but it’s definitely holding my interest enough to keep reading.

For the past five months Essallie Hanley has been trying to forget about the frightening murder of her boyfriend. Haunted by vivid nightmares and hallucinations of the event she does anything she can to pretend she’s like every other normal girl in High School.

Only Essallie is far from normal. Able to conjure blue fire and a shimmering silhouette of wings from her body, she seeks the only known solace left to her name; her first home in Belfast, Maine.

But she soon realizes that her return home is only the beginning of a long and twisted road taking her as far from her humanity as possible, with Kayden, the demon originally summoned to slaughter her, leading the way. Unable to touch her but oddly curious, he joins Essallie in her search to find out just what she is. But neither of them were prepared for the secrets they’ve begun to unravel, secrets that will change Essallie and everyone around her forever.

The Antithesis by Terra Whiteman – I was completely blown away by the world building in this novel.  I like how the main character’s guide isn’t giving him the answers he wants (info dumping to the readers) and making Alezair figure things out on his own – which is much more interesting for the reader.  I’m only 20% done but I’m hoping to finish this tomorrow.  This book has a 5 star rating potential.

This is a story about God and the Devil, but not how you were taught to believe.

This is also a story about love and hate, and the suffering both can bring.

This is about rights and wrongs, and all of the spaces in between.

This is about revenge, courage, death, passion; with no villains, no heroes… only those left scorned.

This is a story about Heaven, Hell, and the Jury that holds them together.

This is The Antithesis.

Justice Alezair Czynri is the newest recruit of the Jury, a group of powerful beings who reside in Purgatory and enforce the Code between Heaven and Hell. However, Justice Czynri could not have come at a worse time. A storm lays just over the horizon…

One that brings with it a war.

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in meme

16 comments on “Booking through Thursday: Quick

    • I love the gritty stuff and the lack of predictability. I do like some lighter fiction – you know, picture books for the baby. He likes to listen to me read but I feel a little awkward when the scene shifts into sex or gore. I’d like him to have a big vocabulary but there are some words I’d rather not explain to him quite yet.

Leave a Reply

