Book Review: A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young


A Want so Wicked by Suzanne Young

Publisher:  Balzer and Bray

Genre:  Angel/Demons

Available in ebook or paperback format from Amazon or Barnes & Noble.  More reviews available on Goodreads.  Read my review of the previous book in this series A Need So Beautiful.

Overall:  One of my major gripes with sequels is that they aren’t stand-alone novels.  A Want so Wicked can be read and enjoyed by itself, though I heavily recommend you check out its amazing predecsessor, A Need So Beautiful.  

Characters:  I had more trouble connecting with Harlin in this book than in the first book.  The reasoning for him being so distant is explained at the end of the story, but it doesn’t make sense and really killed his character for me.  I wasn’t feeling his commitment towards Charlotte/Elise.  I also got annoyed with Elise with how she ignored her sister, because Elise was so self-centered in this novel.  Charlotte gave everything she could to show her friends and family how much they meant, while Elise kind of shut everyone away to be with some guy.  I originally liked Abe’s character but by the end he became nothing short of pathetic.  I wish he had at least one redeeming quality.

Plot:  This book has the same basic plot as A Need So Beautiful, only with more sub-plots and characters.  It’s darker and the history of the Forgotten and Seers is more fleshed out with this book.

Ending:  The twist involving Elise’s sister shocked me.  I totally did not expect any of that to happen.  Elise’s choice also surprised me, but I felt like it was for the best.  I really hope that the author continues this series, since there is so much more that could be explained and revealed about this world.

Summary:

Elise is a normal seventeen-year-old girl until the day she wakes up in a desert park, with no idea who she is.

After that episode, her life takes a bizarre turn. She’s experiencing unexpected flashes of insight into people’s lives—people she’s never met before. Strangers frighten her with warnings about the approaching Shadows. And although Elise has never had a boyfriend, she suddenly finds herself torn between two handsome but very different young men: Abe, the charming bad boy whose effect on her both seduces and frightens her, and the mysterious Harlin, who’s new to town but with whom Elise feels an urgent, elemental connection—almost as if they are soul mates.

Now Elise begins to question everything about her life. Why do these guys both want her so desperately? What are the Shadows? Why does the name Charlotte inspire a terrifying familiarity? And who is Elise, really?

Grade: B

This book is good for fans of angel/demons.

Shameless plug:  I purchased my copy of this book from my local indie bookstore Changing Hands and got to meet Suzanne Young there!

By Lizzy's Dark Fiction Posted in Default

2 comments on “Book Review: A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young

  1. Pingback: August in Review | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Two and Twenty Dark Tales (Anthology) | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

Leave a comment